Wandering Thoughts

July 26, 2008

Left Brain Strikes Back

Filed under: Ramblings and Musings — terence @ 3:51 pm

Over at TED you can listen to neuroanatomist (brain scientist to you and me) Jill Bolte Taylor talk about the day she had a stroke. I listened last week, spellbound at first as she turned the story of her personal disaster into a science lesson to remember. The second half frustrated me though – all that insight, and a remarkable recovery to boot, lead only to the sort of stock standard sub-Buddhist conclusion that fills the new age section in bookstores: get in touch with your right brain and take time to just be; hope that more people will do this because that will make the world a better place.

I was still vaguely annoyed when I went for my evening walk. As I made my way up to the grassy hillock near our house my mind paced back and forth.

…That sort of advice is easy offered but never followed…

…Well, you used to beleive in it…

…Used to. Anyway that’s how I know it’s wrong…

…No. That’s how you know it didn’t work for you when you kindof tried it once…

…Didn’t work for me, didn’t work for anyone else I ever met,
including people who preached the stuff…

…Well it sure seemed to work for her…

…hhmmpphhh…what about all that talk of projecting peace to
improve the world around us? It’s nonsense. The only answers
are in the long slow march of reason…

At the top of the hill I was surrounded by the shapes and colours of a the falling dusk.

…I’ve got an idea…

…I should try emptying my mind of thoughts and just be?…

…It’s a beautiful evening; what’s there to loose…

…Well…

…Go on…

…Ok…

My jacket flapped in the wind. To the East the lighthouses at Pencarrow and Baring Head blinked as the headlands they sat on faded into the grey. Above, clouds raced south, running before the rising northerly, billowing like sails. Wind gusts formed cat’s paws as they touched the sea, then spread, joining the journey to the horizon. The last purples of the western sky fell upon the Kaikouras giving the snow colour amongst the haze.

…You know what I think…

…Wha!… sigh…No…

…There’s a blog post in this…

…Grrrrrrrrrr…

…Oh be a sport. That’s quite a view…

…I suppose…

…And it would be funny in a self-deprecating way…

…Maybe…

…Go on. if I leave now I can start it before dinner…

…I guess I am getting cold. What are you thinking…

…Something that ties in that TED talk with my own musings about spirituality…

…And the evening, too. How would you start it?…

…”Thanks to the wonders of modern technology brain scientist…”

…How about “Over at TED”, it’s more succinct…

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

