Wandering Thoughts

October 13, 2008

Two!

I’m no fan of blood tests.

It’s not a rational thing. I know they won’t hurt. I know the needle is tiny. And I know I need to have them – both to monitor the progress of my arthritis and to make sure that the Warfarin has my blood clotting rates within a safe range.

I know all this.

But none of it can shake that feeling. The suspicion that the thirsty, nasty, little needle-sword is really up to no good.

So why then was so I happy this morning despite discovering that I got the wrong blood tests done last week? After all, wouldn’t this just mean that I had go back to the bleeding room again?

It did, but the mix up which took place was that I got my arthritis tests done instead of my INR (blood clotting). It’s my blood clotting that I need to monitor regularly and frequently at present, while I wasn’t planning to have my inflammatory markers tested for a few more weeks.

And so, had the mix up not occurred, I wouldn’t have learned this morning that my CRP is currently two.

Yes, people, you read that correctly – two. One more than one and so damn normal it makes Karori look edgy (normal range for CRP is 1-7). The last time I got tested my CRP was in the high forties which, we hoped at the time, simply reflected the shock of surgery. We worried though that it might be a sign that my arthritis was returning in the wake of the trauma that my body had just been through.

In the land of chronic illness there is little that can be said for certain and without crossed fingers. But learning that my CRP is normal is good news – it certainly seems much less likely now that I will be revisited by bad arthritis any time soon.

[applause]

2 Comments »

  1. Wooooooooooooooooooooo!
    Brilliant news! Enjoy the lack of arthritis :)

    Comment by Nikki — October 14, 2008 @ 9:54 am

  2. Yeeeehhhaaa! Stoked to hear the good news T!

    Comment by Silas — October 16, 2008 @ 6:13 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

