Wandering Thoughts

November 5, 2008

I was a teenage Duran Duran fan

It’s true. I was. I wore the t-shirt, I puffed up my hair with hair spray, I worried my mother. She confessed this to me the other day.

“I thought their music was quite nice, but then I heard the words. Horrible. All about violence and women and sex.”

I’m pretty sure she’s confusing Duran Duran with Guns n’ Roses (who replaced them when I hit thirteen and rid me permanently of the hair spray.)

But the funny thing is, the concerns she had about my teenage music habits are the exact same ones I have today about the music she’s in to. Have you ever listened to the lyrics of an opera? Terrible stuff. Violent, misogynistic and dripping with vice. Honestly Otello would make Ice T blush.

Anyhow, younger readers are no doubt wondering just what all the fuss was about.

Here we go. Duran Duran – “Hungry Like the Wolf”.

Sigh – they don’t make rock videos like that any more…

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

