Wandering Thoughts

February 1, 2010

North

Filed under: Going Places — terence @ 8:26 pm
Tags:

Life has a funny way of connecting the dots. Were it not for spreadsheets I would never have made it to Greenland. It was my ability to make spreadsheets whirr that got me the job in the investment bank. And it was the money the bank paid me that bought me the tickets on boats and planes north to the arctic circle.

Were it not for my ex-girlfriend’s sister getting married. I would never have flown from London to Boston, over Greenland late one day, when the sun was pulling shadows of mountains over plains of icing-sugar snow. And if I hadn’t seen that view, from miles above, gazing out the window. I would never have dreamed of going there in the first place. And if I handn’t stumbled across the fact that it was actually possible to backpack round Greenland, by chance when browsing the shelves of a books store off high street Kensington I would have never even thought to actually try and follow that dream.

Speaking of heights (high altitude, high latitude) my vertigo (which isn’t actually fear of heights) has gone. As quick as it came. And I’m very happy about that.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

